WASHINGTON – Officials from 10 states and the District of Columbia announced the formation of the Northeast Electric Vehicle Network, a group dedicated to promoting electric vehicle use and establishing an EV infrastructure.

The participating states are Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont. One goal is for the jurisdictions to work together to attract public and private investment for clean-vehicle infrastructure throughout the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. Participants will also exchange information culled from their own green fleet experiences.

Network funding includes a $994,500 EV readiness grant awarded to the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority on behalf of the Transportation and Climate Initiative.