WASHINGTON - More than $145 million in Recovery Act funding has been awarded to six states to support their green efforts, according to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

Under the DOE's State Energy Program (SEP), the following states have proposed statewide plans that prioritize energy savings, create or retain jobs, increase the use of renewable energy, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions: Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Montana, and New York.

With the initial 10 percent of total funding previously available to states to support planning activities, the July 6 awards bring the states' current funding to 50 percent. The remaining 50 percent of funds will be released once states meet reporting, oversight, and accountability milestones required by the Recovery Act.

The latest funds were distributed July 6:

Arkansas - $15.7 million.

Georgia - $32.9 million.

Kentucky - $21 million.

Mississippi - $16.1 million.

Montana - $10.3 million.

New York - $49.2 million.

For detailed information on these statewide plans, view the full release from the DOE.

In addition to these states, the DOE also awarded $8.2 million to the U.S. Virgin Islands to advance energy efficiency initiatives and renewable energy projects on the islands.