NEW YORK – The World Car of the Year Awards program recently announced the top 10 finalists for three of its awards, which will be presented at the upcoming New York International Auto Show, according A jury of 47 international auto journalists throughout the world selected 10 finalists for the World Car and World Performance Car categories. The finalists for World Green Cars were chosen by default, as only 10 vehicles were nominated.

The panel, made up of representatives from various continents and regions throughout the globe, voted by secret ballot to narrow down the finalists. The award winners’ press conference is scheduled for March 20 at the auto show.

The following are the finalists for each category, listed in alphabetical order:

World Car

  • Audi A5 Coupe/Audi S5 Coupe
  • Audi R8
  • Cadillac CTS
  • Ford Mondeo
  • Ford S-Max
  • Mazda2 / Mazda Demio
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class
  • Nissan Qashqai/Dualis
  • Nissan Skyline Coupe/Infiniti G37 Coupe
  • Volvo C30 

World Performance Car

  • AMG Mercedes-Benz S 63
  • Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster
  • Audi R8
  • Audi S5 Coupe
  • BMW M3
  • Honda Civic R (Japanese & European spec)
  • Maserati GranTurismo
  • Mercedes-Benz CLK63 AMG Black Series
  • Renault Clio F1 Team R27
  • Mercedes-Benz CL 63 

World Green Car

  • BMW 118d with Efficient Dynamics
  • Chevrolet Equinox Fuel Cell Electric
  • Chevrolet Tahoe/GMC Yukon Hybrids
  • Chevrolet Malibu Hybrid
  • Lexus LS 600h L
  • Nissan Altima Hybrid
  • Saturn Aura Green Line
  • Saturn VUE Green Line
  • Smart ForTwo cdi
  • Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI BlueMotion 

Before a final vote, the jurors will re-evaluate the vehicles based on the following criteria: overall merit, value, safety, environmental responsibility, emotional appeal, and significance. KPMG International will then count the votes before final winners are announced.

In the World Car Design of the Year category, finalists are chosen differently. International design experts create a short list of finalists for the jurors to consider. The jury then votes for the winner from the list.

For more information, visit