Green Operations

NHTSA Five-Star Safety Rating Changes Postponed to 2011-MY Vehicles

January 23, 2009

WASHINGTON – The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) released a notice announcing the decision to postpone implementation of its revised 5-star government safety rating program on 2010-model year vehicles. The new ratings will instead be applied to 2011-model year vehicles, allowing OEMs another year to prepare for what the NHTSA considers the most significant changes since the rating program began in 1979 and drivers an additional year to become familiar with the new rating system.

Last July, the NHTSA issued a notice in the Federal Register announcing changes to the agency's New Car Assessment Program (NCAP), to be effective on 2010-model year vehicles tested. The decision to do so would have a significant impact, as the NCAP's testing and safety rating criteria for frontal and side crash, as well as rollover resistance, has not been substantially revised since the program's inception thirty years ago.

The decision to revise the 30-year old ratings system was announced late January 2007, with the NHTSA requesting feedback on a report titled, "The New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) Suggested Approaches for Future Enhancements." In response to its report, the agency received written comments and heard testimony at a public hearing less than two months later in March. However, it wasn't until more than a year later in July 2008 that the NHTSA published its decision in the Federal Register to make changes to the NCAP testing and safety criteria. 

Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 10000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.



Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All

Grants & Subsidies

Alternative Fueling Station Locator

Alternative Fueling Station Locator

Find your closest station or plan a route. Locate biodiesel, electric, ethanol, hydrogen, compressed natural gas (CNG), liquified natural gas (LNG), and propane across America.

Start Your Search